Sarah Burke stamp

Canada Post has issued a set of stamps celebrating the life of freestyle skier Sarah Burke.

Burke (1982-2012) was a groundbreaking freestyle skier, whose remarkable accomplishments on the ski hill helped elevate her sport to where it is today. Her stamps are part of Canada Post’s Pioneers of Winter Sports Series.

Burke won four gold medals at the Winter X Games, was named female skier of the year by ESPN in 2001 and was voted best female action sports athlete at the 2007 ESPY awards. She was also the first female skier to land a 1,080-degree spin (three full rotations) in competition.

A discipline of freestyle skiing that Sarah Burke helped put on the map – halfpipe – is set to make its Olympic debut in Sochi, Russia. Burke’s lobbying on behalf of the sport helped get halfpipe skiing to the ultimate stage.

Burke’s life was tragically cut short in January 2012, when she succumbed to injuries suffered while training in Utah.

Within the same series, Canada Post has also dedicated stamps to curler Sandra Schmirler and figure skater Barbara Ann Scott. Canada Post says each athlete changed the face of her sport in Canada – and around the world – and left an indelible mark in the memories of Canadians.

“It’s difficult to think of curling, figure skating and freestyle skiing without these incredible athletes being top of mind,” says the Honourable Lisa Raitt, Minister of Transport and responsible for Canada Post. “Each of these women reached the highest levels of athletic accomplishment and these stamps recognize their significant contributions to their sports.”

“As Canadians we define ourselves very much by our winter sports and these women have inspired generations,” says Deepak Chopra, Canada Post President and CEO. “The legacy that these three pioneers bring to their sports is now captured on these stamps for everyone to enjoy.”

About the stamps

The Pioneers of Winter Sports stamps measure 26 mm x 32 mm and are available in booklets of 10 stamps. The souvenir sheet – which features all three stamps – measures 126 mm x 90 mm. The Official First Day Covers bear cancellation sites of Ottawa (Barbara Ann Scott); Biggar, Saskatchewan (Sandra Schmirler); and Whistler, B.C. (Sarah Burke).

The stamps were illustrated by Louis Hébert, designed by Montreal’s Paprika and printed by Lowe-Martin. The stamps featuring Sandra Schmirler and Sarah Burke use lithography in seven colours, while the Barbara Ann Scott stamp uses six-colour lithography.

To purchase, please visit

Photo of stamp courtesy of Canada Post.

SnowOnline Editor: Lori Knowles