World’s Largest Lesson marked with Never Ever Days at ski areas across North America

Photo Credit: Whistler Blackcomb/Toshi Kawano

January 10, 2017 – New skiers and snowboarders flocked to ski areas across Canada and the U.S. on Friday, January 6, 2017 in an effort to set a Guinness World Record for the World’s Largest Ski & Snowboard Lesson. In Canada alone, it is estimated that 925 skiers and snowboarders participated.

Never Ever Days is the ultimate beginners’ package for anyone 13 years of age and up, providing newbies with everything they need to get started – equipment rental, lift ticket, and a minimum one-hour lesson – all for just $25 (plus tax).

Over 70 ski areas across Canada – plus an additional 78 ski areas across the U.S. – offered lessons on Friday January 6th, 2017 with 7 ski areas participating in BC, 10 in Alberta, 8 in Ontario, 44 in Quebec, and 5 in Atlantic Canada, with many lessons selling out in a record amount of time. Better yet, Canadians were able to participate in this undertaking for only $25 thanks to the Canadian Ski Council’s new program, Never Ever Days.

All Never Ever Day beginner lessons started simultaneously on Friday, January 6th, 2017 in seven different time zones – 10 a.m. Pacific time, 11 a.m. Mountain time, 12 p.m. Central time, 1 p.m. Eastern time, 2 p.m. Atlantic time, and 2:30 Newfoundland time. Never Ever Days will continue to be offered throughout the 2016/17 season. For a list of participating ski areas and dates, please visit nevereverdays.com.

Last January 2016, approximately 6,000 children and adults took a beginner lesson when ski areas throughout the U.S. hosted the first attempt at the World’s Largest Lesson. Although they came up just short at obtaining the “Official Guinness World Record”, our friends south of the border prevailed and asked us to encourage our Canadian ski areas to get involved.

This World Record event was brought to you by the organizers of the Learn to Ski and Snowboard Initiative, the National Ski Areas Association, Professional Ski Instructors of America, SnowSports Industries America, SNOW Operating and the Canadian Ski Council. Results of the World’s Largest Lesson will be available in the coming weeks.

For more information on Never Ever Days and the World’s Largest Lesson, please visit: http://www.nevereverdays.com/ or watch our Youtube video at: https://youtu.be/OBgzAlOLfZo

 

-30-

The Canadian Ski Council is a not-for-profit association that was founded in 1977 and works on behalf of its member organizations to increase participation in recreational skiing and snowboarding in Canada.